PD Committee ABE Program Representatives Needed!

The MN statewide ABE professional development (PD) committee works collaboratively to: 1) identify key present and future PD needs, 2) develop PD plans and resources, 3) identify and implement best practices in PD, and 4) coordinate and align PD activities for an efficient and effective PD system. The committee meets quarterly and consists of professional developers from supplemental service providers, the MDE-ABE PD specialist, other MDE-ABE staff as needed, and 5-6 rotating ABE program representatives.

We are currently seeking applications for ABE program representatives to serve on the committee for a 2-year term (July 2018 – May 2020). Program representatives play a critical role in bringing local/regional PD needs to the committee and sharing PD information & resources with practitioners in their region! They must be currently employed with a Minnesota ABE program and have experience with ABE instruction or administration. Experience planning, delivering, or participating in local, regional or statewide professional development is a plus. Representatives receive a stipend in recognition of their work on the committee and gain valuable experience collaborating with a diverse group of ABE professionals on meaningful PD work that benefits ABE practitioners and programs.

View PD Committee Program Representative job description and application

Applications are due by Wednesday, May 30, 2018. Committee members will be selected to ensure representation from diverse regions, types of programs, roles, and areas of expertise. The PD Committee will review applications and notify applicants of their selections by Friday, June 8, 2018. If you have any questions about the PD committee or the application, please email Astrid Liden at [email protected].

We’d also like to extend a huge thank-you to our outgoing program representatives for their commitment and contributions to MN ABE professional development:

  • Becca Bair, South Washington County ABE
  • Allie Bezat Riley, MORE
  • Janice Bisch, St. Paul ABE
  • Clarice Esslinger, Mankato ABE
  • Lynn Larson, Minnesota Department of Corrections – Rush City
  • Tammy Schatz, Moorhead ABE
Astrid Liden, ABE Professional Development Specialist Minnesota Department of Education